Above: Pulse Diagnosis

Avert the danger before it arises!

Maharishi was fond of this saying from the Yoga Sutras – Heyam dukham anagatam. Avert the danger before it arises. In the field of health and wellbeing Maharishi AyurVeda is the supreme system for preventing the onset of disease.

This is because Maharishi AyurVeda seeks to diagnose the onset of a disease at a very early stage, to restore balance at the deepest level, and remove any imbalance before it can develop into serious disease.

Maharishi AyurVeda identifies six sequential stages in the development of disease. These are:

Sancaya – Stage 1
One of the doshas over-accumulates.

Prakopa – Stage 2
The over-accumulated dosha becomes aggravated.

Prasara – Stage 3
The aggravated dosha begins to disseminate through the body.

Sthana Samshraya – Stage 4
The aggravated, wandering dosha settles somewhere where it does not belong. The first symptoms now appear, mostly subjective.

Vyakti – Stage 5
Objective, observable symptoms now arise.

Bheda – Stage 6
The disease erupts in full, and may become chronic.

Western medicine tends to diagnose and treat disease at stages 4, 5, and 6. It considers stages 1, 2 and 3 as sub-clinical, since there are no definite symptoms. Maharishi AyurVeda seeks to diagnose and restore balance at stages 1, 2, and 3, even before the symptoms appear, and long before the imbalance can develop into a serious condition.

We recommend everyone to have regular consultations with a trained Maharishi AyurVeda practitioner! You may feel there is nothing wrong with you and that you are in good health, but it is just as well to check that there are no subtle imbalances that could develop and cause problems in later years.

Anthony Hardy